If you don’t have anything nice to say…

Posted: August 28, 2011 by S. Trevor Swenson in Advice, Life, Observations
Tags: , , , ,
 
We all know the parental cliche of “If you don’t have anything nice to say, then don’t say anything at all.”  Actually, I’m not even certain that it is still a parental cliche.  I see lots of either apathetic or overly indulgent parents these days.  I’m sure the latter would never say anything like this to their precious little darlings, and the former just don’t care.  Also, my upbringing was very foreign to what children must contend with these days.  I went outside without supervision, I got spanked, and (gasp) my parents and teachers actually said “No” to me.  It’s a wonder I survived.
 
The sentiment of that cliched expression is nice I suppose, but I also wholeheartedly disagree.  I think if you have something negative and entertaining to say…shout it out loud my friend so that the cynicism can echo through the hills and valleys.  Just think of all the clever and funny quips, complaints, insults and observations we’ve heard in our lifetime.  Surely we are better off having heard them and laughed at someone elses expense, OR if they were directed at us, we took pains to change, or took steps to pain the person who said it.
 
Look, I’m all for being positive and sensitive.  I’m just saying that being less than pleasant or nice has an important place in life too.  Who wants to live in a sweet sunshine and strawberry pie, my little pony-world?  Not me.  If not for people saying the occasional less-than-nice thing we wouldn’t have South Park, The Sex Pistols, George Carlin or any comedy for that matter.  I think the term needs to be updated.
 
“If you don’t have any thing nice to say, at the very least be a creative and witty asshole” 

or maybe telling Junior 

“You know, if you keep saying things like that, you’re going to run into an angry and thin skinned fellow who will almost certainly inflict a great deal of physical pain upon you”.  In my opinion, that is an important bit of wisdom for a 5 year old.
 

The world needs mean people and mean statements so we appreciate kindness. There is a new anti-bullying craze going on now.  This is the backlash from a poor girl from Ireland who got picked on mercilessly to the point of suicide. When I read that story or when it comes up I get very upset.  It happened near where I grew up so my mother followed the story.  I saw pictures of the teenage girl.  She was so pretty and there was an intelligence behind her sad eyes.  She was from Ireland and moved to Hadley, MA.  She must have felt so alone.  I was bullied as a child and did my share of bullying.  It taught me to be both sensitive to others and develop a sense of empathy, while also making me stronger and tougher.  I fear that the anti-bullying campaign, like many well intentioned things will go too far.  My solution would be to arm the smaller and weaker kids. 

“Honey, here’s your lunch, your Ritalin and your chemical mace, now give mommy a kiss and have a good day at school” 

Fast forward to lunch time.  “Gimme your milk money fag” 

PSSSSSS  “AHHHH MY EYES!”

 
I should probably pursue a career in early childhood development.
Comments
  1. This is why my Dad taught me how to beat the brakes off people. “If they try to pick on you”, he would say, “You punch them in the fucking nose and don’t stop until you’ve punked them out properly”. He also balanced that with telling me that if I ever picked on another kid for no reason he’d be kicking my ass. It was a good talk.

    Unfortunately I have had to whip a few people’s asses who tried to be jerks in school. But, after a good solid ass kicking they never tried that shit again. I like to think that I taught them a valuable life lesson haha.

    I feel like that’s what’s wrong with a lot of people these days—they’ve never had their asses kicked.

  2. dollbaby says:

    Agrees with Mistres Rage ^^

  3. Tallkronan says:

    I dare do nothing but agree with Misstress Rage, since I’m afraid she’s a superior fighter.

And?

