What did I just get myself into?

Posted: June 25, 2011 by S. Trevor Swenson in Home
Well, it’s official. I am starting a blog. This is a good thing in many ways, but it also has it’s drawbacks.  This means I have to produce and cannot just write out random blurbs on the idiotic observations I have on everyday life.  People might actually read what I write…and expect more in a timely fashion.  This also means what I write will have to some degree be engaging.  If I’m funny and people like what I write and tell their friends, then I will have to be funny with some regularity.
 
Today I saw a youtube clip on ‘How to Make Money With Your Blog” and it stressed staying on topic. The person they used in the clip was a nerdy-mousy girl writing about coffee and coffee shops. There are coffee nerds out there. I know, because I’ve met them. They talk really fast. I have written on a few occasions about the hi-jinx of my local Dunkin’ Donuts, but I’m too anxious to run around trying many different coffee places and rating them.  I also don’t like the idea that I might sway people’s opinions on various coffee shops and how the barista obviously didn’t understand what I meant when I said ” a whisper of cinnamon on my cappuccino”  Someone might get fired.
 
I don’t generally have a topic other than complaint, discontent and overall malaise, and my complaints are usually pretty broad and anonymous. I complain about “old ladies annoying me at grocery stores” and “cell phone users not paying attention to the world around them”. The only time I directly complain is when I have had a bad job interview and feel I was treated badly by a venue. Then I hop on Yelp and other social media websites and write scathing reviews about phantom dinners and drinks I never had there. I am sad to admit this has happened more than a few times. Come to think of it, that is a pretty indirect and anonymous complaint.  Well I never said I was courageous.  When I am in a grumpy mood I go back and reread my bitter reviews and it cheers me up, which says a great deal about my overall lack of character. 
Writing a blog means I might have to leave the comfort and safety of my air conditioned little curmudgeon cave of complaint and go out into the scary world and experience things.  I will have to observe, report and even interact with others.  Then, I have to make it funny and or interesting.  I also live in NYC which although it is a vibrant and entertaining place, many don’t take kindly to be watched by strange little men who then scribble something in a notebook.  It’s kind of a recipe for a beating or mugging.  I shall have to arm myself for these recon missions, or learn to run fast.
 
I suppose I should compile a list things and places that are good to write about, or where interesting people congregate, or can a true artist work with whatever materials are available to them?  Sadly I don’t think so.  I don’t think I could pack a lunch and grab a notepad and pen and head off to a burn ward or homeless shelter and bang out something funny.  Well, at least not the burn ward.
 
If I have a blog, then I will have little to no control over who reads my ramblings and how they react to them.  People could write “You Suck” to me and drive me into lengthy episodes of insecurity and depression.  People are generally more rude, or at least blunt in an anonymous medium.  Of course, this is a pessimistic attitude to take.  It’s entirely possible that people might find my writing entertaining and funny and might invite me to speak at their nephews bar mitzvah or at a sweet sixteen. That might be kind of cool
Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Welcome to the blogsphere!

  2. Tallkronan says:

    It’s brave to put your words out there. Of course, it’s entirely up to you if you allow comments, or monitored comments or what ever suits you. I wonder if you perform your pieces ever? On stage, that is. I think you should!

And?

