S. Trevor Swenson

Posted: June 24, 2011 by Gow in About

I am a 40 year old, perpetually angry and cynical, aspiring comedy writer.  I am a student, a son, a friend, a bartender, a curmudgeon, a malcontent, a grumpy pants, a bossy boots, a pain in the ass, a Leo with Libra rising and Gemini moon. I have problems with attention and anxiety and I delight in self medicating and self diagnosis

My hobbies and interests include: ridicule, complaint, observations on everyday idiocy. Irony and micro-annoyances. Cooking, music, coin collecting, film, reading, travel, football, boxing, gambling, true crime, vandalism, comedy, history, TV, political debate, wine and whine.

 
The topics that will be visited and usually ridiculed on here will include:  The human condition, political correctness, family, anit-fashion, cell phones/text messaging, potty humor, poorly behaved children, adults, and seniors, celebrities, lack of common sense, people and things that suck, my strange obsessions: Wonder Woman, Cookie Monster, Beaker from the Muppets, mental illness, and Charo.
 
Why should you read this? Because I’m funny, unique and I need the attention. If anything I write offends you, please feel free to stop reading.
 
My heroes and influences include: George Orwell, Gow, George Carlin, Bill Hicks, Ricky Gervais, Lewis Black, Cookie Monster, Bea Arthur, Vincent Van Gogh, Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Patton Oswalt, Doug Stanhope, Bill Maher, Irvine Welsch, John Waters, Muhammed Ali, Elvis Presley, Stanley Kubrick, My Grandfather, Larry David, William S Burroughs, Johnny Rotten, Terry Gilliam,Harvey Pekar, Robert Crumb,William Shatner
 
People and things I can do without: Paris and Perez Hilton, Reality TV “stars”, celebrity chefs, Dr Phil, Dr Drew, Whoppi Goldberg, Vin Diesel, Dick Cheney, John Boehner, Sarah Palin, Anti-Intellectualism, Rudolph Giuliani, Donald Trump, The Westboro Baptist Church, The Pope, The New York Jets, little girl beauty pageants and their pimp mothers, MTV, The Metropolitan Transit Authority, radical/militant feminists, racists and people who scream “Racism” at everything that doesn’t go their way, meter maids, Chevy Chase, Rush Limbaugh, Ann Coulter, Fox News, rednecks, Lord of the Dance, waking up early, body odor, bars that only hire female cupcake bartenders, violations of my personal space, hip hop videos and “Bling Bling” hip hop “Culture”, yuppies, corporations and sociopathically greedy businessmen, crowds, people who walk too slowly in front of me, self righteousness, dress codes, fashion, modern parents (play dates, time outs and negotiation with children under 10) my former employer, lack of originality, hippies
Comments
  1. Tallkronan says:

    I was searching the lists for me, but other than “violations of my personal space” and to some extent “modern parents”, I think I’m good. Phew!

  2. Ruchika says:

    Nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. You deserve it.
    Check out the rules at my post for the same- http://addressisnotavailable.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/the-one-lovely-blog-award/

    • Please forgive my thanking you in such a tardy manner. Many, MANY thanks. Now is this award something I have to rent a tux for, prepare a speech? Is there a prize?

      In the immortal words of the last child I babysat for…”Gimme”

      • Ruchika says:

        I have no clue actually 🙂 I got nominated myself, and the only thing I know is that we have to nominate 15 people ourselves, say seven things about ourselves and thank the person who nominated us. 🙂 Im not making it up.

  3. babedarla says:

    You wrote:
    ” I never liked my name; Scott. It was too easy to rhyme when others felt like picking on me as a kid. It rhymes with “Snot” “Pot”, “Twat” and lots of other things. Kids are musical creatures and they’d make up poems and songs about me. My step sister once sang “Scotty on the potty kissing with Dottie” and I practically cried.”

    Yeah, try being in elementary school in the 60’s when “Alfred Hitchcock Presents” and reruns of “Our Gang” were both on tv AND having the name Darla Hitchcock…Oh yeah, and I also had two silver caps on my very two front teeth. Lovely! My name during said elementary school years was “Hey-Silver-Fang, Hey-Alfred, where’s-Buckwheat?” Yeah, it was awesome (I told this to a friend of mine about fifteen years ago, a cute young thing I had a crush on. His response was “Oh, THAT explains it!” *sigh*) (no wonder I became a punk!)
    I’m glad you came by my blog (searching for curmudgeon were we?) because now you are my new favorite blog!

And?

