Mr Bojangles

Posted: April 11, 2011 by S. Trevor Swenson in Life
Tags: ,

A while back I wrote about a funny little blind man that sings “Do Ya Think I’m Sexy” on the subway while begging for spare change.  He had no skills whatsoever as a blind man.  He was hunched over, swinging his blind man’s walking stick like a spastic Viking berserker with a battle axe.  He made his way slowly through the subway car, falling on passengers and repeating the same 4 lines of the famous Rod Stewart song over and over tunelessly.  Whenever he fell on someone he’d apologize. Whenever someone gave him money he’d stop his singing for a quick “Thank you very much, God Bless you”.

Today when my N train pulled up to 59th St and Lexington Ave, Mr Bojangles shuffled in.  I was delighted.  In the strange and illogical private spirituality that I practice, I believe in omens.  I felt this odd little man was a good omen while I was on my way to work.

I sat back out of the range of Mr Bojangles cane and smiled as he started off with a selection from Billy Joel.
” Don’t go changing……To try to please me….”  I prayed to myself…” Oh please, PLEEEEASE have him sing ‘Do Ya Think I’m Sexy”…..  Sure enough, after 4 lines from “Just The Way You Are”, he started to bang out his signature song.

” Iiiiiif you want my body.”…
“annnnnd you think I’m sexy”,
” Coooooome on sugar,”
“let me …………”
“KNOW”.

He moved through the subway car collecting more money than most professional singers in NYC see in a month, falling on people, and pausing with “Oh excuse me’s”  and “God Bless you’s” Seeing disgruntled commuters duck and dodge as he waved his walking stick brought a smile to my cynical and angry face.

I want to get this guy on Letterman or American Idol.  With his filthy blue sweat pants pulled up to his chest, bent over and a sickening grin on his face as he recites 4 lines of random songs completely out of tune.  It was a good day to be riding the N train.

Comments
  1. Tallkronan says:

    Very cute! You describe it so well, I feel like I was there with you!

And?

